About Portals

Registration Year


  • The Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture & Technology, Kanpur is  recognized today as the premier institution of agricultural research and education in India. It  dates back to 1893 when a small school was started to impart training to revenue officers. It  rose step by step to the full-fledged Government Agriculture College (1906). The U.P.  Institute of Agricultural Sciences (1969) and finally to the C.S. Azad University of Agriculture  & Technology in 1975. The University was created with the merger of its two constituent  colleges, the erstwhile Government Agriculture College, Kanpur and U.P. College of  Veterinary Science & Animal Husbandry, Mathura.

    The present status of the University  was attained through phases of growth  of its constituent colleges. At present,  there are eight college in the  University, viz., College of Agriculture ,College of Forestry, College of Horticulture and Home Science at Kanpur and  College Engineering & Technology,College of Dairy Technology and College of Fishries at Etawah,College of Agriculture at Lakheempur. The University  caters to the needs of the farming  community spread over 29 districts of  six divisions of Uttar Pradesh.

    The climate of the jurisdiction area varies from sub-humid and semi-desert to semi-arid  conditions prevailing in different districts. Soils are mostly represented by vast expanse of  the alluvial developed from the river Ganga and its major tributaries. However, the soils of  the Central Plateau are coarse loamy, sandy, red (Raker and Parwa) and black (Kaber and  Mar). Wheat, Barley, Rice, Maize, Sugarcane, Gram, Pigeon pea, Lentil, Soybean, Potato,  Mustard and vegetables are the main crops of this locality.

Give Rating
Add Review
Review Guidelines
Based on 0 reviews

Browse Related Portals